Some folks are under the impression that when you upload a video to Youtube it will immediately be made public.
This is wrong. You’re given two other options. You can make your video Private or Unlisted.
YouTube Private vs Unlisted Video
What’s the difference between a private video and an unlisted Video on YouTube?
A private video can only be watched when you log in to your youtube account.
Even if someone knows the title of your private video, they can’t search for it over YouTube and watch it.
But they can still watch it if you allow them to watch it. This will be explained later. You’ll learn how you can share your private video.
Meanwhile, let’s learn what’s the difference between an unlisted video and a private video.
First of all, let’s look at the similarities. A private video and an unlisted video aren’t visible to anyone who visits your channel.
Only you can see and view them when you log into your YouTube account.
However, this doesn’t mean others can’t watch them at all.
You can allow other people to watch an unlisted video by sending them a link to the video.
The person receiving the link can then send it to others. Any number of others can watch the unlisted video, too.
The person with the link to the unlisted video can include it in a playlist and make it visible to others.
Also, viewers are allowed to comment on an unlisted video.
That’s not the case when it comes to a private video. Only specific people can watch the video.
Let’s say I’m allowed to watch somebody’s private video. I can’t share the private video with others by sending them the link.
Only the owner of the video can allow access to the video.
Also, viewers are not allowed to comment on a private video.
When Do You Set a Video to Private
Personal Family Video Collection
If only you want to watch the video, you can set it to private. This is especially if you want to watch a collection of videos.
This is useful if you want to watch videos on the go. If you’re traveling or are going to be away from home for a long time, you can upload your favorite collections of videos to YouTube and list them as private.
This would include home videos involving family members you don’t want others to see.
Paid Video Courses
If you’re running a paid video course you can upload your videos to YouTube and set them as private.
In this way, you can ensure only those who have paid for the course can view them.
As mentioned earlier, if you have them as Unlisted, then anyone can share the links of the video or playlist and others can watch them without paying for the course.
Steps to Sharing a Private YouTube Video
Let’s say you decide to share a video or a collection of your private videos with a family member and you want only that person to be able to view it,
Or you want to give access to your video course to a subscriber who has paid for it,.
Or it could be that a video is public or unlisted and you want to change it to private for some reason.
Here are the steps on how to share a private video. The first step to sharing your private video is to have ready the email address of the person you’ll be sharing your video with.
The first thing you would want to do is log in to your YouTube account.
Go to YouTube.com and click on the icon on the top right-hand corner of your browser. Make sure you’re signed in to the account where your videos are hosted. Otherwise, use the Switch account on the drop-down menu to access your account.
On the drop-down menu, click on YouTube Studio.
On the left panel of the YouTube dashboard, click on Content.
You’ll see all the videos you’ve uploaded listed. Go to the video you’ve set as private.
Hover your mouse over Private and click on it.
You’ll see a drop-down menu. Under Private, there’s an option to Share Privately. Click on it .
Enter the email address of the person(s) you intend to share the video with. Tick on Notify via email. Then click on done as shown in the screenshot below.
You’ll be notified with whom you’ve shared the video. Next, hit the Save button.
The invitee will receive an email notification. But there will be no mention that it’s a private video.
The message shows a video thumbnail with three dots. The invitee can then click on it to view the video.
Let’s say you no longer want to share the private video with the invitee. You can go back to YouTube Studio and click on the Private button again. Then click on Edit.
When the edit panel opens, click on the cross sign to remove the invitee’s email. Then hit Done.
Back on the main panel hit Save.
When the invitee now clicks on the email link she’ll get a private video notification.
You have learned the steps on how to share a private YouTube video. Now go ahead and give it a try,